Landscape - Manhattan Boogie-Woogie (1982)

After leaving the soft rock band Easy Street, Richard Burgess formed a slick synth pop/jazz group called Landscape in 1975. In addition to Burgess, who sang and played drums, Landscape included Andy Pask (bass), Chris Heaton (keyboards), John Walters (keyboards, woodwinds), and Pete Thomas (trombone, keyboards).

After building a following through touring, the band released its self-titled debut in 1980, which sold rather poorly. 1981's From the Tea-Rooms of Mars...to the Hell-Holes of Uranus firmly accented synthesizers as the focus of Landscape's sound, and they scored a Top Five U.K. hit with "Einstein A-Go-Go."
1982's Manhattan Boogie-Woogie was the group's most danceable effort, but by the following year, the lineup had been pared down to a trio, and the band broke up for good in 1984. Burgess had already begun a production career, working with artists like Spandau Ballet, Living in a Box, Visage, and King.
~ Steve Huey, All Music Guide

Landscape were formed in the mid 70's and released two independent releases before signing to RCA Records in 1979. The band were pioneer users/experimenters of the changes in music technology at the time, utilising computers and electronic drum kits etc. The band released 3 albums and enjoyed a worldwide hit single with the incredibly catchy ‘Einstein A GoGo' in 1981… The first UK reissues of these two influential albums by electronic pop pioneers, Landscape.

Manhattan Boogie-Woogie is the third and final album by Landscape and was released in 1982. It is the only Landscape album that does not include any instrumental tracks.

1.     One Rule for the Rich
2.     Manhattan Boogie Woogie
3.     Colour Code
4.     Long Way Home
5.     It's Not My Real Name
6.     Bad Times
7.     Eastern Girls
8.     When You Leave Your Lover

1 comment:

jacyk said...

Landscape - Manhattan Boogie-Woogie (1982)